Mari , Smith , Altenburg & Manos take night#1 Turkey Classic wins

Bill Grosskreutz   Cocopah Speedway Announcer:


Lance Mari continues to build on his recent sucess as he put his MRT Race Cars modified in Budweiser victory lane and took the $1000.00 paycheck Saturday night at Cocopah Speedway. Mari bested 41 mods with his wire to wire win with RC Whitwell driving a crippled Mars Race Cars as he damaged the l/f […]

Turkey Classic begins Friday

By Randy Hoeft @YumaSunSports

Baby, it’s cold outside.

Maybe not here, but it’s apparently cold enough in the Midwest to make a handful of top-tier dirt track racers, who were in Las Vegas recently for the annual Duel in the Desert event, to hang around a little longer and make the trip further south for this weekend’s sixth annual Turkey Classic at […]

NASCAR’s Larson, open wheel legend Swindell headed to Winter Heat

By Randy Hoeft @YumaSunSports

It’s getting cold outside, but the 2016 Winter Heat Sprint Car Showdown is starting to sizzle.

On Monday it was reported in the Speed Sport News that NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver Kyle Larson, the 2014 rookie of the year, is planning to again race in the Winter Heat at Cocopah Speedway, which comes less than a week […]

2016 Season Passes on sale now at Cocopah Wild River!

Cocopah Speedway 2016 Season Passes are on sale now at Cocopah Wild River. They are good for admission to any Cocopah Speedway event from January 1st 2016 through December 10th 2016.

Adult 325.00

Senior & or Military 300.00


2 new faces to Budweiser victory lane and 3 who have been there before

By: Bill Grosskreutz Track Announcer


When all the dust settled Saturday night at The Diamond in the Desert Cocopah Speedway we had 2 new faces visiting Budweiser Victory Lane and 3 others who have seen it before.
Chula Vista California’s Manny Baldiviez who also resides here in Yuma visited victory lane yet again for the 6th time this season and now 2 in […]

Cocopah Speedway Racing Series resumes Saturday

By Randy Hoeft @YumaSunSports

Talk about your stark contrasts.

Rich Ziehl, from Las Cruces, N.M., arrives at Cocopah Speedway for Saturday night’s racing program with his sights set on winning an unprecedented eighth straight championship in the American Sprint Car Series Southwest Region.

Steven McCollough, on the other hand, will pull into the Somerton oval looking to win his first championship in the […]

New Mexico driver overcomes obstacles to win Deacon Dick Rautenberg Memorial finale

By Randy Hoeft @YumaSunSports

There was an “s” missing.
So, Zane DeVilbiss kneeled down and corrected the spelling of his last name on the big $1,000 check he had just earned for winning the IMCA Modified Division feature event in the second annual Deacon Dick Rautenbenberg Memorial.
As it turns out, it was the smallest problem DeVilbiss had to overcome […]

Chris Toth doubles up at The Deacon Dick Rautenberg Memorial

Bill Grosskreutz  Track Announcer

When all the dust settled after Saturday nights Racing action at Cocopah Speedway no one was happier than Holtville, California’s Chris Toth as he swept the weekend at the Somerton Arizona 3/8’s mile dirt oval and extended his point lead in the RV World IMCA Northen Sport Mod Toth in his MRT Racecars sport mod swept […]

Ricky Thornton Jr, Tony Hill, Chris Toth & Bob Horton take Night # 1 features at The 2nd Annual Deacon Dick Memorial

By: Bill Grosskreutz Track Announcer


With night #1 in books for The 2nd Annual Deacon Dick Rautenberg Memorial we continue racing action tonight at The Diamond in the Desert Cocopah Speedway. Main event event winners were as follows Bob Horton in his #3 IMCA Hobby Stock who dedicated his win to his friend the late Dick Rautenberg following Horton across the […]

Its Race Day !

By:Bill Grosskreutz


Its Race Day! come on out to The Diamond in the Desert Cocopah Speedway for the 2nd annual Deacon Dick Rautenberg Memorial.Gates open at 5:00 PM with racing starting at 7:00 PM.Come watch 4 IMCA racing divisions heat up the track as they continue to accumulate points towards the season championship as rounds 7 & 8 will be contested […]