Turkey Classic begins Friday

Turkey Classic begins Friday

Baby, it’s cold outside.

Maybe not here, but it’s apparently cold enough in the Midwest to make a handful of top-tier dirt track racers, who were in Las Vegas recently for the annual Duel in the Desert event, to hang around a little longer and make the trip further south for this weekend’s sixth annual Turkey Classic at Cocopah Speedway.

That’s the word on the street, that drivers like former IMCA Modified Division national champion Dylan Smith, from Osceola, Neb., and Jesse Sobbing, from Malvern, Iowa, along with Zane DeVilbiss, from Farmington, N.M., who is also a former IMCA Modified national champion, and Bobby Hogge, from Salinas, Calif., will be in the lineup when the two-night Thanksgiving weekend event gets under way Friday at 7 p.m. Saturday’s racing also starts at 7 p.m.

The program will feature a full lineup of IMCA divisions, including Modifieds, Sport Modifieds, Stock Cars and Hobby Stocks. Gone is the Pro-Stock Division, which was the showcase division since the Turkey Classic’s inception in 2010. Dwindling car count led to the division being eliminated from the Cocopah Speedway Racing Series format in 2015, and the Turkey Classic.

But the holiday show is not lacking for action.

Not one of the visiting drivers who might be on hand is any stranger to winning at Cocopah Speedway. In 2013, Sobbing showed up for the IMCA Winter Nationals, and won all three of the Modified feature events, when it was a three-night affair.

A year later, Smith showed up for the new four-night Winter Nationals, and won all four of those feature events.

Also, Hogge won the Saturday night feature event at the first Winter Nationals in 2012.

The field will also feature a number of top-level drivers from the 2015 Cocopah Speedway Racing Series, like current Modified Division point leader Steven McCollough, from Imperial, and his neighbor, Lance Mari, who finished 16th at the Duel In The Desert.

On the Sport Modified level, rookie Kyle Smith, from Yuma, notched a 17th place finish in Las Vegas, and the current division point leader Chris Toth, from Holtville, finished 22nd at Las Vegas.

In Stock Car action, Yuma’s Manny Baldiviez is the division point leader, and Yuma’s Leonard Manos is leading the charge in the Hobby Stock Division.

SPARE PARTS: Cocopah Speedway is located at U.S. 95 and County 15th Street; the general admission gate opens at 5 p.m.; first race is at 7 p.m. Tickets are: adults (13 and older) – $15; adult military with ID – $13; senior (55 and over) – $13; children 12 years old and under – free (main grandstand); family pass – $36; Skybox – $30; pit pass – $30 (per person). Tickets can also be purchased online at www.cocopahspeedway.com or at Cocopah Wild River or at the main gate on race day. Fans can get live racing lineups during the races and results afterward by going to www.cocopahlive.com. Fans can also access live in-race scoring and lap times by going tomylaps.com. For more information, call 344-1563 or go to www.cocopahspeedway.com.

Share this post